Playing Hedwig’s Theme

When I finished reading the Harry Potter series in high school, I promised myself that I would buy my own copy with my first paycheck.

Fast forward to now, this overwhelming emotion of excitement and satisfaction is taking me over because, just yesterday, I fulfilled that promise to my 14-year old self.

I wasn’t really planning on buying it right away. I actually went to the bookstore to buy a copy of the unabridged version of Les Miserables because I have been listening to the musical for weeks now. Learning that the book I was looking for was not available, I just told myself that maybe I should come back next week. And that’s when I turned around and at that very moment, from the corner of my eye, I caught a glimpse of this large box displayed by the corner of that bookstore. I was about to ask myself how many books was inside that it required such size of a box, when I saw it. That iconic name where the letter ‘p’ has a lightning bolt in it. I realized they were everywhere in the bookstore, probably as promos for the upcoming Fantastic Beasts film which is set in the Harry Potter universe.

My heart skipped a beat because it was as if the universe has put that box in that precise corner and that precise angle for my eyes to caught a glimpse of it at that precise moment. And it was as if the universe has put this great scheme of putting any unabridged Les Miserables book away from my sight just so me and this 6 year old dream would be together once and for all.

I didn’t buy it right away. I had to consider things like my weekly budget and budget for Christmas presents and bills. So I let that decision hang for the whole afternoon and went to watch Doctor Strange with my…with someone. Doctor Strange was pretty trippy by the way.

After that, I made up my mind. I can feel it. I don’t know if that was just the illusion of materialism but fuck it I am now sitting here admiring the beloved box of Harry Potter series that now rests on my bedside table.

2016-11-06_A

Leave a Reply

