Rhymes and Reasons

Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo

My parents gave so much influence when comes to music taste when I was growing up. They had such great songs in their playlists that I just cannot let go even when I hit my teenage years. The genre that they have are mostly rock–rock and roll, soft rock, country rock and folk rock. And sometime these genres usually shift to just country, folk and ballads.

Let’s start when I was an infant. I don’t remember this anymore, but my mom always told me that when I was a baby it was John Denver  who put me to sleep. And when we were kids, my dad bought this DVD of John Denver’s wildlife concert and we would play it every time and that’s how we grew up singing along to his songs.

Of course, our family didn’t escape from The Beatles mania so there’s no need for explaining why we love them. And every New Year’s Eve, we would play these two artists and wait until it’s 12 midnight.

There are other artists too that has affected my music taste and some are even in my own playlist:

  1. The Eagles (which is my dad’s all time favorite band)
  2. Simon and Garfunkel
  3. The Carpenters
  4. Bread
  5. Dan Fogelberg
  6. Peter Paul and Mary
  7. James Taylor
  8. Everly Brothers
  9. Air Supply
  10. Queen

I’m just gonna limit this list to 10 but I’m telling you, there’s a LOT more. And I love that my parents brought me up to the songs they love. It’s like passing something onto me and my siblings and I have a feeling that I might even pass this on to my kids someday. I love the feeling that there is something that unites us not just because our blood is related or that we have lived together for a long time. It’s something that connects us through rhythm and lyrics and our love for a certain artist.

Leave a Reply

