It is KNOW not NO.

Ha Ha Ha. I’m still not in the zone of working on my projects so I figured I could still read one more book. My friend recommended his sister’s book, Love, Rosie  by Cecelia Ahern. I was a bit skeptic because for one, the film, with the same title was not really that great. It was a story of these two idiots who were in love with each other for years but they didn’t have the balls to say it and they spent half of their lives hiding feelings and choosing the wrong people. But of course, they got together in the end. And that’s the thing why I didn’t like the film but I shall explain it later on. Also, the book was 500 pages long. I wasn’t sure if I was ready for that kind of commitment.

But I still gave in because he justified it with his jumpy comments and giddy persuasions.

My first comment about it is that the format is so weird. It’s composed of these series of emails/letters/text messages in every page and you won’t see a narrative paragraph until the very end of the book. I think the author is trying to be unique and she’s trying to find another way to connect with the readers. But to be honest, it didn’t really elaborate things and I was given very limited information of what was actually happening.

For example whenever there’s a certain important event that’s happening in Rosie’s life, it would just be inserted in some letter and I would just be surprised of it coming out of nowhere. It was really hard to visualize a scene when there are two characters exchanging ideas through letters without anyone narrating the whole story and you’ll just have to rely on the documents given to you.

In my opinion, when it comes to reading stories, it’s vital that I have someone who’ll guide me to every scene that’s involved. I need someone to elaborate a character’s point of view especially when they’re alone and dialogues were out and thoughts are limitless. And that is why I think narrative paragraphs are important.

Anyway, the story was also somewhat biased with Alex and Rosie’s relationship. It’s like the author was obviously tweaking situations so that fate would go with them. Plus, the relationship they have were really idealistic. I don’t think that you can still connect to a friend in a constant basis especially when you’re married and you have crazy kids and you’re busy with your job and you’re living half a world away. I’m not saying that you can’t be friends forever because you can. It’s just that when you think about Rosie and Alex’s regular updates, it’s too unrealistic.

OR maybe they did not really had those regular updates and they caught up with each other as rarely as I thought they did… and it’s the fault of the fucking email/letter/text message format again that I could not keep track on the timeline of the story.

I also believe that the author is trying to prove that girl/boy bestfriendships lead somewhere, in which I disagree. I believe that as long as that platonic relationship is intact, things will never get complicated even if the whole world says you two look good together.

Going back to the author being team Alex/Rosie, I was a bit disappointed because the character of Greg didn’t have depth and character development. One moment he was this silent and  forgettable character and then he was this cheating asshole who ruined Rosie’s life. Surprise, surprise. If only he was given justice by making his character more interesting so that he’d at least  deserve the title of being Alex’s rival.

I also have to agree to what my friend said about Greg’s proposal to Rosie. It didn’t have to be as obviously opposite as to Rosie’s dream proposal just to let the readers know that Greg is not the one for her. It would be cool if Rosie just had that “dream proposal” from Greg and yet not feel “the silence” that everyone’s talking about. That would bring juice to the situation: Having everything perfect yet not feeling it.

But there were moments that are emotionally scarring and just really really sad (I don’t know but I’m starting to get really empathetic to the past few books I’ve been reading). Especially in the part were Rosie poured out all the dismay and resentment she’s been feeling for the past years. You know how when people experience series of unfortunate events and suddenly someone starts summarizing them for you and you start feeling awful? That’s how it felt like when Rosie enumerated all the problems she was facing.

And after realizing how miserable her life really was, you get to read her father’s last/goodbye letter for her days after he died. And I felt so happy for her because she really deserve that one letter that tells her she’s appreciated. And that’s enough for her to keep going.

I don’t feel the necessity of Katie (Rosie’s daughter) and Toby (Katie’s bestfriend) repeating history but I guess it’s for the irony and the laughs.

I would want to say more but I’m starting to get lazy so I would leave the rest to you all. It was a great book. It discussed not just Rosie’s relationship with Alex (which the fucking movie did) but her entire life and struggles.

The only right thing the movie did was cast Lily Collins as Rosie.

love-rosie

Leave a Reply

