Phonies and Red Hunting Hats

I am so happy that I am reading again. The Summer Camp took so much time from the usual stuff like reading so I didn’t read the whole summer. And even if the Summer Camp ended, I was just too tired that I lost mood. I spent the remaining days before classes start again fulfilling it with video games and movies.

So to freshen myself up, I picked The Catcher in the Rye because of its influence on literature and pop culture. Also, I was actually planning to buy another book (The Virgin Suicides) but wtf it was so expensive so I just chose the one that’s under 300php. Hence, this book.

Holden Caulfield’s narration in The Catcher in the Rye is so influential that the moment I finish the first few chapters, I can imagine what he’d say every time I would take time to notice the people around me. Whether I’m spending time with my friends or waiting for my order at a restaurant, his voice would just take over my head and the next thing I know, I would start making all these snappy replies on my friends in my mind.

Them phonies.

For some reason, Holden’s lonely walks around New York especially in those moments when he was killing time as he waits for a certain person to show up is too familiar for me. I often get too early when it comes to meet ups. Either it’s because I really couldn’t predict what time I would arrive from my long-ass travel from home or I don’t feel comfortable with people waiting for me. I see myself on him as he thinks about the people he loves and the people he hates and his past and all that.

I now realize why he gets to be compared with Charlie from The Perks of Being A Wallflower. Both of them have a distinct voice when it comes to telling stories. Both of them does not fit in to the world they live in.  And both of them has got an implied mental illness probably due to a traumatic experience (like death of a family member) from their pasts.

Although Holden’s character is a little bit of a pessimistic asshole and he bitches on everyone else most of the time, I guess it’s his way of covering up his fear of growing up and turning into one of the “phonies” that’s why he loathes them and isolates himself from them. Charlie is sweet and likeable and cute but Holden’s more relatable. Probably because he’s got more bitterness in him but it does not stop him from caring for the important people in his life.

The book was every bit of sweet as it is every bit of sad and I’m just glad that I got to read it before I lose chance because the Senior Production 1 is starting to take over my life.

Leave a Reply

