Some Kids, Probably In Love

“___ and ___ sitting on a tree, k-i-s-s-i-n-g

first comes love, then comes marriage

then come’s baby in a carriage”

It’s fascinating to realize that this playground song has been sung on the three consecutive films that I’ve recently watched. I don’t doubt it since all of these films are about childhood and friendship and love. I’m having a day off from all this animation and rigging and shit so I had the chance to watch films. 

Little Manhattan

image

“Love is an ugly, terrible business practiced by fools. It’ll trample your heart and leave you bleeding on the floor. And what does it really get you in the end? Nothing but a few incredible memories that you can’t ever shake. The truth is, there’s gonna be other girls out there. I mean, I hope. But I’m never gonna get another first love. That one is always gonna be her,”

I don’t usually have favorite films but If I ever did have one, I’d consider this to be one of it. It’s a story about young love set in New York City, one of the most familiar places in all films that I have watched. The film is narrated by this little kid named Gabe telling the story of how his world spun around this really pretty girl named Rosemary Telesco. In here, he talked about the awful feelings in the pit of his stomach, the sacrifices he was willing to make just to spend time with the love of his life and the pain that had no name when he got his heart broken for the first time. One reason why I’ve always been into films about young romance is that they’re all so innocent and endearing and does not involve complicated problems that adult romance has. 

Plus, the soundtrack is the best part. It has those songs, where you want to listen to over and over again and let that particular scene where the song was played in the film hang in your head and make your chest feel light and heavy at the same time. That may not make sense but that’s what happens whenever I listen to Where My Rosemary Goes by Freedy Johnston, Love by Matt White and Younger Yesterday by The Meadows.

 

My Girl

4822362387_af784c900f_z

I have been deceived by the trailer! The story does not really revolve around these two kids like the trailer implied. It’s actually just about the little girl, Vada and her issues in her home. The boy, Thomas J. was just a supporting character who follows Vada around and was the only one who listens to her rants.  But the story was good. The ending was not as I was expecting. And Anna Chlumsky is really beautiful. 

Bridge to Terabithia

Bridge-to-Terabithia-Jess-and-Leslie-bridge-to-terabithia-6915415-954-640

“She brought you something special when she came here, didn’t she? That’s what you hold onto. That’s how you keep her alive,”

I have almost forgotten about this movie! It’s been years since I last watched this and man, it never failed to leave me in tears. The story is about a boy named Jess who met this imaginative girl named Leslie and they went on with all their adventures in a place they call their Terabithia. It’s a place like any other place you’ve been when you were 12 and still in the stage where you still can’t detach with pretend-games. I’ve read the book when I was younger and I remember how crushing it is to hear Jess’s point of view while he speaks about Leslie in the saddest words Katherine Paterson has to think of.  Okay, should stop right here because I might spill some spoilers. 

Anyway, it’s again played by the same kid from Little Manhattan, only a little older. And Zooey Deschanel is so beautiful. 

So that’s about it. I still have one last film that came with these three but I’d rather put it in another entry because it gave me TOO MUCH feels. And when I said too much, it really was TOO MUCH, because my friends have seen the aftermath the next day.

Leave a Reply

