Into The Hearth of A 21st-century Adolescent as told by R.L. Sciandrelli

Daily Prompt: Digging Up Your Digs

10:21 AM 3rd Sept. 2514

Hello! My name is Rose Sciandrelli. I’m a graduating student of archaeology and I am so thankful for having close ties with a few of the elite scientists in The University. They invited me to an expedition with a mission to study the early 21’s Century. They said they needed a young adult like me to experience what kind of people my age was back then but I guessed that they just wouldn’t want to get stuck with a group of old men in a foreign place.

We’ve just landed into one of the oldest islands in the planet Earth, somewhere in East Asia. For now, we shall be calling this island, Ostrov 11. We could not see any sign of life in this place though. Professor Antioch, author of The Generation Alpha Anthropology, says that this used to be a town and that this actual structure we are in used to be a home. We are so lucky even though this place has been 6,500 feet underground it was still recognizable.

Right now, This journal shall serve not only as a contribution to the university research facility but also as a fantastic experience which I shall write in my own personal view. And since we’re talking about the past, I will try to write this manually and make sure to write it legibly.

The entrance was just barely a wall. The doorway has been blocked by the debris from the where the ceiling used to be. The first thing I saw was this large silver closet. I guess that would be the refrigerator where people used to store food. Anyway, I initially got bored with what they say was the kitchen. So I left the old men do all the note-takings and went straight ahead.

Now this is more I like it.  Hanging on the wall were stringed instruments called guitar and ukulele. Back then, people actually created music manually by plucking the strings. And then there is a shelf full of books. Real books–printed in papers! I know that practically speaking keeping them is a waste of space and money but it looks good seeing stacked or piled. I grabbed one, the oldest looking, and hid it in my satchel before the others follow. Anne Frank: The Diary of A Young Girl first edition. This is awesome.

I finally moved into the bedroom. It’s too small for someone who keeps a lot of stuff. There were two tables. One has a PC model where they are divided into parts and was hard to carry around. Beside it was a series of tiny drawers. Inside of them were bracelets, keychains and get this, photographs from some friends. Back then was a custom for friends to have pictures of each other and put it somewhere. On top of that table, there were casette tapes of bands like The Beatles, The Eagles and The Cascades. There was also the famous Rubik’s cube. And glow sticks that doesn’t glow anymore. Stressballs. Medals.

It’s lunch time. Late as always and I’m starving and my hand is already aching. This is the longest writing I did using my hands. And I’m proud of myself. One thing that I realized is how much people back then were sentimental about their things. And that I am quite amazed by how much they are willing to take a lot of space just to give tribute to the memory that thing has offered them.

Leave a Reply

