In The Absence of Electrical Power

1. Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri

8716140

Collection of adorable stories set in an Indian atmosphere. Its a good read for anyone who wants to go outside of their comfort zone and experience a whole new environment and people. I actually mistaken this for The Emperor of All Maladies (whose author was also an Indian-American) that was recommended by John Green. But I did not have any regrets in buying it because I really enjoyed it.

2. November 22, 1963 by Adam Braver

4309217

An informative, really amazing book mixed with both historical and fictional events with the points-of-view of the people involved in the assassination of President Kennedy.

3. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

11870085

I’ve read this more than once but this is the first time that I’ve actually cried to it. I don’t know if it’s the atmosphere of silence that has brought me to tears,or that I have nothing else to do because of the blackout but I was really so moved by the crushing dialogues and ugh. Now, I don’t care how mainstream it is anymore, John Green has always been this awesome writer (and vlogger) that I will forever be grateful to for the things that I learned from him.

4. The Nanny Diaries by Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus

829579

Funny and relatable to anyone who’s ever experienced working for someone with their irrevocable demands. Although, I’m not saying it’s always been as horrible as what Nan experienced but I just find it funny how true some of her remarks are. There is a movie adaptation of this starring Scarlett Johansson and it’s just as fun.

5. Looking for Alaska by John Green

99561

Well, the John Green fever is not yet over after the whole “Okay?Okay.” heart-crushing story. I decided to reread my favorite John Green book Looking for Alaska and it’s still giving me a lump on my throat after re-living Alaska Young’s curves and breath smelling of cigarettes and her all-over hotness. She’s the hottest fictional character I admire.

6. Nagueños by Carlos Ojeda Aureous

TPhoto_00001

I couldn’t find a book cover of this edition so I took it via webcam. Anyway, this is given to me by a really cool friend who does really rad artworks . The book is interesting because it’s a collection of stories set in Naga City — the city where most of my high school and college life took place. I may not actually live in the city but it has a place in my heart and reading this book really makes me feel close to it. It made my imagination more vivid since it’s an actual place that I consider my second home.

Leave a Reply

