Take Note of This, People (a rant)

I never understood how some people would look down at the idea of note taking. We were having a really good discussion the other day and so I was busy scribbling down the things that might be important when our teacher stopped and told us:

“There’s no need to copy, I’ll be posting this online.”

I can feel the smirks on my classmates’ faces as a number of disappointed enthusiasts (including myself) slowly closed their notebooks and put down their pens and stared at the teacher as they tried their best to stop their hands from twitching.

Ok, first of all, I was not just copying. I’m writing down the points I want to remember.

Second, what kind of teacher are you–discouraging your students the sacred practice of recording information captured from your lectures and powepoint slides that has clearly gave a major importance in the field of science and history since the dawn of the ancient Greeks?

Lastly, Do not think that you’re giving everyone a big favor by that remark because I just want you to know that note-taking is not a thankless task that causes inconvenience but rather it is a preferred style of a student when it comes to learning. It is a choice and not a requirement (except of course if you’re in high school and the teacher checks your notebooks at the end of every quarter). In some cases, it is a pleasure of the student to take down whatever they think is interesting and I think that’s okay. You don’t have to stop them.

I remember I had the same kind of teacher before, and believe me, she is far worse than everyone else because she told us to stop writing while she’s talking because it’s distracting. And I was like, WHAT THE FUCK BITCH?! YOU’RE A FUCKING TEACHER. YOU’RE EXPECTED TO EXPECT STUDENTS TO TAKE DOWN NOTES AND NOT BE DISTRACTED BY IT. Students who write down the things that you’re saying is a compliment because at least some people are interested in you despite of you having a focus span of an eye-dropper. And If you ever did become my teacher again, I’m not going to second guess in scraping my pen into your face and shoving my binder into your mouth.

Of course I’m joking. I choose not to get expelled or go to jail. But seriously people should stop making fun of note taking like it’s a waste of time or it’s really lame. I mean, we all have different ways of listening to lectures let’s just respect that.

Leave a Reply

