A Chat with the Majesty

When I was fourteen, I was demanded by my parents to attend their high school reunion. I was pretty bummed about it because it would be filled with groups of weird adults with beers on their hands bragging about their children’s achievements and talking about how perfect their families are.

As a drunk middle-aged man (who happened to be their class president) hollered over the chorus of this annoyingly catchy ballad in the microphone making it his eleventh song in the karaoke machine, I knew I have had enough of it. I had to get out of the place and go somewhere I can find peace. I grabbed my cold bottle of coke and headed down the stairs and after answering a series of random interviews from this group of women who claimed to be my father’s friends, I was free.

The location of the venue was in this really nice resort so obviously when I went outside, that was when I had this moment with the ocean. On a normal day, I would rather endure my mom and her friend’s  endless gossip about a person I don’t even know rather than get toasted under the blaring heat of the sun. But that wasn’t an ordinary day. There were clouds all over the sky and I can see it was a beautiful three-o’clock afternoon. And from that moment, I knew I was meant to be there, by the shore.

I removed my flip flops and took a sip from my bottle of soda. I felt my toes get stuck in the warm, soft sand and felt my lungs get filled with salty, summer breeze as I inhale them. The scene was all too perfect, I wished Jim Dales was there to narrate the whole experience and along with that, a Simon and Garfunkel song playing in the background.

I didn’t touch the water and doing that made my whole idea of the ocean somehow seemed different. I’ve always thought of the ocean as recreational setting where you’ll get engulfed if you went too far. But at that moment, when I was just listening to waves crashing, feeling the wind through my face and just…enjoying the presence of the ocean without actually getting wet, I felt like I was communicating to a friend. Only that words were unnecessary and you just get connected with the silence. And, it was the most intense conversation I had with a majestic creation of the universe.

527770_129210153879966_532828157_n

And then after that, I felt I needed some company

And that’s where I want to be right now.

7 thoughts on “A Chat with the Majesty

  1. Johnf380

    whoah this weblog is wonderful i really like studying your posts. Keep up the great paintings! You already know, lots of individuals are searching around for this information, you can help them greatly. fkegccccddea

    Reply

Leave a Reply

