For the 30 year-old

I was looking back at Charlie McDonnell’s old vlog entries (charlieissocoollike – see that guy, he’s awesome) and I came across this particular entry entitled “Dear Future Charlie” wherein he makes a sort of time capsule by making a video message for his 30 year-old self. I’ve always wanted so badly to create something like that but I just didn’t know how. I mean, I don’t want to talk in front of a camera. And now it finally hit me that I already can. With the help of this thing that I’ve been running for 2 years now.yey. So, here goes.

Dear 30 Year-old Me,

Hello! You do realize (or remember) that there’s a lot of things going on in my mind right now. Anyway, I also hope you’re not dead. Or else this is going to be like one of those assumed cryptic messages where people would gather around and force to believe themselves that this is not just a coincidental teenage blabbers but an amusing awww-she-wrote-this-before-she-died thingy and then they have to cry because I’m a girl whose got a lot of hopes and dreams because she was just writing to her future self and now she’s won’t be able to do those things anymore because well, she’s dead.

But I do have a lot of hopes and dreams. I hope you’re one successful bitch who has already figured out what she’s supposed to be doing in life. Maybe you’re an illustrator now because that would be really cool if you are. Or you have changed course in life that you decided to be a member of a indie-rock band whose concert is already sold-out or a curator of a certain museum or you suddenly decided you wanted to be in the corporate world or you became a bestselling author and that a movie adaptation is coming out in which you’re on the lead role too. Well, whatever career you decided to pursue, because I can’t really tell if the things I dream of doing for a living right now will still be the same in the future, I just hope you’re doing it well and you’re happy with it. But it would be really awesome if you’re not broke.

It would be great if you already have someone in your life right now. And I hope he’s hot. Bonus if he’s one of the band dudes and adorable Hollywood actors you’ve been fantacizing about. But what I really want for you is the one who cares about you a lot and will love you and is funny and smart but not smarter than you and just a really wonderful guy. And probably you have the most adorable offsprings.Or maybe you decided to change gender orientation and dated a female instead? I’d probably stick with the hot guy. But if that really happens, then I just wish you’re happy.

I hope you don’t turn out to be a lame, ordinary grown-up. I hope you still got that madness in you. If you know what I mean. I hope you’re still enthusiastic about fandoms. I hope your still collecting books or own a proper library perhaps. I hope you’re still running this blog. I hope you’re still creating stuff. I hope you still have an amazing taste in music. I hope you’re still into the wildest, the most insane things. Even the humiliating ones. Yeah, that would be nice

So I guess, this is?

was?

me?

you? 12 years ago? what the fuck. i’m making paradoxes already.

This is 12 years ago. yeahh. It’s an awesome period. You just watched season 4 episode 2 of Game of Thrones. You just took down the wall of stuff because posters started falling off. You just started reading Stephen King and he’s so freaking awesome. Ok, I don’t really know how to end this. So, see you in 12 years? but you’re reading this right now, so–ugh logic is hard when we’re dealing with time. ok bye.

3 thoughts on “For the 30 year-old

  1. somartisaid

    PS this should be in the comment earlier but unfortunately i’m so insensitive that all i notice is stephen king. by the way, love yer idea. i think imma restart my blog with that but i really want to write/post it on my 20th birthday. hmmm. meh. anyways, just trust yourself. her life will be better than your worst case scenario. i predict that she’ll never be broke because she’ll be wealthy with friends. just smooth sail yo! hahaha PEACE! jamarcus out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

