We All Will Be The Greatest

I still couldn’t believe what happened last night. Okay, since I am so full of emotions right now, might as well tell the whole story. There may come a point where I might exaggerate a little bit but I don’t care. This was how I remembered it.

So the original idea regarding this one helluvah life-ruining concert is that each member of our tiny circle of friends will be saving up for the whole year of 2013. Because, well, it costs a lot. Then on January, were all gonna go to Manila and have the time of our lives. It was a brilliant plan because It’s like the week after my 18th birthday which makes it kinda special. There were only some shortcomings.

1. That idea was planned out just a month before the year ends so we didn’t really have time to save money.

2. The distance from my place to the venue is about 6 hours. And the bus fare, will be demanding.

3. We’re a bunch of busy college kids. 

4. Asking permission to the parents will not be easy.

5. Money. money. money.

That’s why, by the first week of January, it was the moment when I finally accepted the fact that The 8123 Tour is going to be another painful unattended get together where shirtless, tatooed hot guys play live for crazy screaming bitches. It’s gonna be another series of upsetting pictures on my dashboard that I will cry to and It’s gonna be another opportunity that i will have to let slide away. 

Saturday, January 11, it was already evening when one of my friends, let’s call her Dora ’cause she’s an explorer and she’s a ghetto lels, announced that she bought the tickets she has been contemplating over for days. I felt a sudden light of hope inside of me. i have been pushing her to go to the concert because she has to be there plus her chances were higher. 

Then that’s when we made a new plan. That i will be experiencing the whole concert via phone. I will be calling her and we’re gonna stay connected all throughout the night. The idea, to think of it, is ridiculous. But I’m fucking desperate so i had to do what i had to do. 

January 12.

5 pm – damn the line is already long. my friends says.

6 pm – line’s movin. false fangirl screams everywhere.

7 pm – she reached the front door. this is it.

7.30 pm – THIS IS IT. FO REAL.

It took a while for it to start. But then I heard screams everywhere and that was when i realized Nick Santino showed up and started playing unfamiliar songs. I don’t really mind. Suddenly, Nick went on singing the overrated ARTTM song, Baby Blue Eyes and the next thing I did was a bit embarrassing because it was grossly sentimental. I stopped what I was doing and just sat in front of my computer, closed my eyes and just sang along. And just let myself feel like I was really there. And those fangirly screams weren’t annoying anymore because it added to the I’m-a-part-of-this vibe. 

I lost track of time when This Century started playing. They had a really awesome setlist and I was singing along to each of them while my sister was ranting behind me and telling me to lower my voice. I don’t even gave a fuck.

And then The Maine finally came out. It was magical. and they were, from what I can hear, mashing up songs. Ugh, I couldn’t really understand what they were saying but, I guess that’s what I get from spending a 25-peso unlimited call than a 2,500-peso ticket for the bleachers.  

That’s when I thought It was over. BUT NO. my friend told me that there will be an autograph signing after and that she’s going wait in line. It was past 11. Then she had this crazy idea of giving the phone to the band when it’s her turn so that I will have the chance to talk to them. I got excited but at the same time I was thinking it was impossible. I mean, cmon. really?

But I waited. of course I waited. and at 1:30 am I called my friend to know what’s up. At first she was talking to me, describing she’s just inches away from them. Then she wasn’t talking to me anymore. and then i heard some voices. AND THEN SUDDENLY, SOME GUY WAS TALKING ON THE PHONE asking me how i am. that was when i realized that It was Nick Santinooo, I just didn’t recognize him immediately! and then on the background I heard my friend saying “Can you speak to my friend on the phone?” OMYGOD. and THEN SUDDENLY, (i’m sorry i just have to use uppercase starting from this point) THERE WAS A FUCKING SEXY HUSKY VOICE ON THE PHONE SAYING “HEY SHANNEN, (YES HE SAID MY NAME! LIKE REALLY SAID IT IN THE SEXIEST WAY ANYONE HAS EVER HAD THE PRIVILEGE OF SAYING IT AND I FELT MY OVARIES EXPLODE FUCK IT) WE MISSED YOU (LIKE OHMYGOD I FOR A MOMENT THERE I FELT IMPORTANT AND SHIT.SHIT I JUST SHIT MY PANTS)” IT WAS MY FUCKING JOHN CORNELIUS O’CALLAGHAN THE FIFTH!!! AND I JUST FELT LIKE DYING THERE. AND MY FRIEND PASSED IT TO KENNEDY FUCKING BROCK THAT MUSTACHIOED HOT ADORABLE PERSON WHO JUST TOLD ME HE LOVED ME AND YES, HE ALSO SAID MY NAMMMEE. 

I JUST CAN’T. AFTER THAT CALL, MY HANDS WERE LITERALLY SHAKING. AND I WANTED TO SCREAM SO BAD IT HURT. I STILL CAN’T BELIEVE EVERYTHING HAPPENED.I WAS HARD TO.SOME PART OF ME WAS SAYING IT WAS ALL A DREAM. SOME SAY I WAS UNCONSCIOUSLY MAKING UP THINGS. BUT IT WAS. IT REALLY WAS REAL. 

ok am done. 

Image

Leave a Reply

