I Was Headed Insane, The Devil Told Me His Name

I get really uncomfortable when people cry in front of me. As much as I appreciate them for showing me their most vulnerable side, I would always have this sort of slight panic attack when tears well up and they suddenly break down and start to weep.

I do not have anything against the idea of finding comfort on shoulders or caresses on the back or hugs while crying. To be honest, the idea of crying, for me, is one of the most human act each one of us has the privilege to experience. The overflowing buckets of emotion that is represented by each teardrop that rolled down your cheeks. By every snot that kept on getting out of your nostrils no matter how hard you forces them in. By every wail that you let out to the world expecting it to echo on the hearts of everyone. We just want to let it all out.

But no matter how uncomfortable it may seem, no matter how awkward the attempts to show affections are, the idea of wanting to be there for someone at the sorrowful moments of their lives is inevitable. Yes, it’s true what Stephen Chbosky said, “It’s just hard to see a friend hurt this much. Especially when you can’t do anything except ‘be there’. I just want to make him stop hurting, but i can’t. So I just follow him around whenever he wants to show me his world.” But sometimes ‘being there’ for me is the whole point.

At the end of the day we all just need someone to witness the feelings we’re having because It’s just really depressing feeling it alone.

Leave a Reply

