Blog Assignment #2: A sentimental longing for the past, typically for a period or place with happy personal associations.

What I love about remembering good memories is that you don’t have to go back in time to feel it again. The mere fact of just thinking about them, just reminiscing that wonderful moments of your life is beautiful because you get something out of it even though it’s just all in the mind. And whatever strong emotion you felt when you remember, that makes the whole thing special because you know for a fact that each particular memory is different from another and they all had this specific order of events that resulted to the happiest moments of your life.

This is one of my favorite feelings in world because it either makes you happy or sad. Happy, because it happened or sad, because it probably won’t be happening again. 

Almost two years ago,I had this circle of friends that is composed of the grooviest and the most enthusiastic and passionate people that I know of. We would think about Purgative effects of Makahiya plant on dogs. We would sing about voodoo children. And all those talks about the universe, about attractive men belonging to bands, about mad men stealing flying boxes, about sexy fictional characters. Almost all the weird topics I could think of. I’m kinda been longing for those moments. Especially now I’m getting busier and busier eveyday and I’m afraid I won’t be having time on those things. I haven’t seen them for a while, but I’m betting they’re just there admiring their own existence, just like me. But most probably dreaming of me, because I’m the sexiest in the group (and yes, person who belongs to that circle of friends I’m talking about, I know you’re reading this, and I just heard you snorted, but there’s nothing you can do because I’m free to say whatever I want. This is the best homework ever. Talk to you soon.).

These memories are so powerful that they either tempts you on staying on the same place because we are comfortable with it and we don’t want to change it because we are already happy with it or motivates us on moving forward and hunting for other good memories and making them part of us being human.

2 thoughts on “Blog Assignment #2: A sentimental longing for the past, typically for a period or place with happy personal associations.

  1. Kim Cantillo

    YOU MUST NOT TELL LIES SHANNEN… There are people reading your blog while drinking a hot cup of coffee in a particularly nice, chilly evening and once they read stuff like that, they tend to spit their hot cup of coffee all over their Soc Sci 2 study notes thus, ruining their evening and their chance at studying for tomorrow’s exam. That’s on you. So, next time, please do your homework with caution and make it as truthful as possible so as to avoid, confusion, contusion, disillusion and above all else– death. After all, I was always the sexiest one in the group.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

